HELP PLEASE. My babys belly. update

edited June 2011 in Babies
@homebirthadvocate. And any other mommies that have had babies. So for the last week my son who is 7 weeks old hasn't been able to really poop at all. He has a small hard ball about the size of a gumball everyday and that's it. I have tried liquid glyscerin suppositories and also peaches in every bottle. I have noticed that his belly button is starting to really stick way out. I have never had this with any of my other kids. It doesn't seem to bother him to much and I have listened to bowel sounds and they are all present. I am a paramedic so my clinical impression says its a hernia. But me as a mom tells me that its not normal and that his cute little innie belly button is now push way out. He has an appointment tomorrow but I would like some other thoughts on this. PLEASE. Thank you.

Went to the doctor and he says little man has a hernia and it will correct itself. And he said add a tsp of sugar to every bottle till he poops. Thank you all

Comments

• One of my friends babies was doing something similar too this and it was something (not sure on the spelling ) called hirschburgers disease...
  • That would be freaking me out, too. :( Like you, I would have guessed an umbilical hernia, but I don't know if that would have anything to do with him not pooping much. Maybe try karo syrup in his bottles--I've heard that works, though I've never had to try it. Or maybe try using a rectal thermometer (that one I know for a fact works...that was a very unpleasant side-effect of taking my first son's temperature). I know juice often works in toddlers and older kids, so maybe adding a bit of prune juice or apple juice might help him go. I know at least some friends have had luck with these remedies. If all that fails, maybe he needs a different formula? Or maybe you need to adjust your diet if you're breast feeding? Let us know what happens at your appt tomorrow.